Posted on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | Bookmark on del.icio.us

Long Lived Malware Distribution Sites

by Jose Nazario

In my malware investigations, I’ve repeatedly seen a UK-based host, so I began to dig deeper. I don’t have the time to dig this deep into every site, so it really has to be something that gets my attention to warrant such a distraction. In this case, it was seeing repeated downloads of files from one directory.

As you can expect, one of the first things I did was see if the directory allowed for open listings; sure enough, it did:

Open directory listing

And this goes on for a few thousand files. Number dot CAB, EXE, JAR and JPG. The EXEs are just that, Windows EXE files. The JARs (Java Archives) contain a set of files:

$ fastjar -t -f 200296.jar
200296.exe
installer.js
META-INF/manifest.mf
META-INF/zigbert.sf
META-INF/zigbert.rsa

The JavaScript installer file just sets up the browser as the installation mechanism. The CAB files are Windows installation cabinets:

$ cabextract 200296.cab
Extracting cabinet: 200296.cab
extracting 200296.exe
extracting installer.inf

All done, no errors.

And the JPEGs? Interestingly enough, they just have the URL as an image. In all cases, the EXE’s MD5 values change, but they do the same thing, which is download a second stage tool, itself a part of some classic malware.

So, what do all of these files do? They’re small agents – just downloaders really – that use the browser to change the dial-up networking settings to get you to dial a for-pay service..essentially, billing you and fueling them. Visit a malicious site, your browser starts to install this and voila, you’re hosed.

What’s more, this has been going on since at least 2002! According to this Computer Associates (CA) write-up, this is well-known and no one has done anything about it. :-/ I have been pinging a few sites about takedown, because it’s active malware.

If you want to protect your users, consider blackhole’ing this malicious network: 217.73.64.0/20, belonging to AS16238. So far nothing, but long term suspicious activity there. And here I thought this was new, sadly it’s not!

Every now and then you find a site like this, nothing but malware and no one seems to do anything about it. In that case, I tend to recommend just blocking such traffic.

Popularity: 7% [?]

4 Responses | Add your own



Comment Post by: Suzi Turner — June 23rd, 2006 @ 11:12 pm EST  Reply

[...] In the course of my work, I see or hear about a lot of sites used for phishing and for distrubution malware. There are teams of people working constantly toward getting these shut down, but some just keep distributing malware even after the ISP/hosting company is notified. Security expert Jose Nazario of Arbor Networks blogged about one such site today. This site has been in operation since at least 2002 and is based in the UK.  The site in question lives at IP address 217.73.66.1 (link to whois at domaintools.com). Nazario has a screenshot of a directory listing at the site, showing malware files with dates ranging from 11-Feb-2002 to 19-June 2006. Nazario states there are a "few thousand" files and explains: [...]

Comment Post by: Paul Laudanski — June 25th, 2006 @ 11:01 am EST  Reply

Malware from long lived distrubution sites…

A colleague at Arbor Networks, Jose Nazario, presents on the malware coming from a United Kingdom based host. Jose has put out a call to action against AS16238 which is responsible for the malware ridden network: 217.73.64.0/20. Block it in your host…

Comment Post by: Bleeping Malware — June 27th, 2006 @ 4:28 pm EST  Reply

[...] After reading an article written by Jose Nazario, a security expert for Arbor Networks about a particular long lived malware distribution site located on the 217.73.66.0 network I thought it would be interesting to document what this malware does when you install it. It should be noted that I do not have a modem installed, so the results will be different on a computer with one installed. [...]

Comment Post by: Anuj — July 7th, 2006 @ 12:52 am EST  Reply

Hi Jose,

I read your blog and was really amazed to find that such a site has not been banned till now. But, its true that the Internet is a huge place and how ever huge number of people work to find such things, its still a tough job to do. Maybe common people like us can make a difference here. Why don’t you publish the URLs of all such malicious sites which you have? In fact, all of us can do that here and prevent people from even visiting such sites.

Leave a Comment